top of page

Us and the spices

Inspiration through our travels

We are Mathilde and Thomas LIGOUT, allies in life and in the professional adventure. We want to share our true passion for spices from around the world born from an expatriation of 14 years in China, and numerous trips in Asia and in the rest of the world. Fans of gastronomy, fervent defenders of French cuisine, we have tasted, discovered, experimented new flavors, through ethnic dishes, traditional and popular recipes: sweet powders, fragrant roots, heady flowers or even puzzling berries. !

Mathilde Madagascar 2_edited.jpg
schema naturaliste macis

We select our spices with our partner Sunit, from an Indian spice wholesaler family between China and India. Through his culture and his family history, Sunit is a true professional, with an increased sensitivity regarding spices, their virtues, their use.

All our spices are therefore selected directly from farms around the world.

Our spices are not treated, neither preservatives nor additives which could alter the original taste of the spice. 

Proper preservation of spices is essential to ensure quality for our customers. We keep our spices away from light and humidity, and at the right temperature because each spice must be stored differently.

Muziris 100% naturel_edited_edited.png
Muziris sans additif_edited_edited.png
Muziris Vegan_edited_edited.png

Our little word on spices

We have found that in Asian and Hindu cultures, often much more spiritual than our current Western society, spices are an integral part of everyday life and their use goes well beyond the seasoning of a dish: fundamental basis of any pharmacopoeia. , they make it possible, even today to treat ailments of the body but also of the soul, most often in a logic of soft and preventive medicine. In these cultures, their knowledge is, even today, a rich and precious knowledge, transmitted between generations.  

Our gastronomic passion, as well as a primarily qualitative approach, leads us today to share our passion for these little seeds which flavor our daily dishes.

Making of mathilde 3.jpg

In the current trend of healthy but innovative food, a cuisine synonymous with travel and discovery, we are convinced that our spices, our salts, our mixtures, meticulously selected, expertly mixed, constitute a great alternative to satisfy your desires. and surprise your family and your guests.

 

Forget those tasteless jars of spices from the agrifood world, dictated by profit logic, and come and discover new or regressive, exotic or familiar flavors!

Let yourself be guided by our advice: learn to preserve your spices, to roast them, to sublimate them!

 

Finally, the characteristic of a  spice, is to be able to marry, to combine with other spices thus opening an infinite field of possibilities: if certain mixtures have a recognized and millenary success (ras el hanout, garam masala, zaatar ...), our will is to create new, modern compositions, the results of our in-depth knowledge of our spices and their characteristic essences.

Our blends thus make it possible to create simplified and original recipes!

 

And of course, don't forget that there are no limits and dare!

And finally: the peculiarity of a  spice is to be able to marry, to combine with other spices, thus opening an infinite field of possibilities: if certain mixtures have a recognized and millenary success (ras el hanout, garam masala, zaatar ...), our will is also to share our new, more modern compositions, the results of our in-depth knowledge of our spices, and their characteristic essences. These ready-to-use mixes will, in just a few pinches, enhance your dishes, even the simplest, and give your old classics a second life!

 

And of course, don't forget that there are no limits and dare!

And our name Muziris?

City of Ancient India, legendary capital of spices from the known world.

The oldest writings concerning Muziris date back to the 3rd century BC, and describe a mythical port of Kerala, south of the Malabar Coast, Indian crossroads of exchanges between the ancient civilizations of India, Persia, and the Middle East. , of North Africa as well as the Greeks and Romans.  

Muziris has long been the hub of merchant trade in peppers and spices: the City of Spice.

Photos of spices

Chimichurri Muziris.jpg

Chimichurri

A ready-to-rehydrate mixture in olive oil and vinegar as a condiment to replace mustard => Argentina

Dukkah pistache Muziris.jpg

Dukkah Pistachio

My favorite dip today, with its notes of cumin and sesame and the sweetness of pistachio, mmmh a treat!

Simply as an aperitif, prepare sticks of oriental bread that we soak in a little olive oil then in the dukkah, simple & effective

Macis Muziris.jpg

Mace

Our symbol and color code :)

packaging Muziris 2.jpg

Packaging Muziris

Our bags are made of kraft and aluminum interior for optimal hermetic protection, recyclable bag. We used to have compostable bags on the outside in kraft and on the inside in corn flour, however the spices lost flavor after a few months. In order to optimize the preservation of your spices, we have changed our pouches. These bags keep the spices safe from light and air thanks to its resealable zip closure

poivre Voatsiperifery.jpg

Voatsiperifery pepper

The pepper that inspired us on this adventure

Paprika fume Muziris.jpg

Smoked paprika

Quickly try our smoked paprika to bring woody and smoky flavors to your preparations as if you had grilled on a wood-fired barbecue!

On parle de Muziris

Maison et Jardin magazine

Edition Decembre 2023

bottom of page

top of page

Nous et les épices

L'inspiration au travers de nos voyages

Nous sommes Mathilde et Thomas LIGOUT, alliés dans la vie et dans l'aventure professionnelle. Aujourd'hui nous souhaitons partager notre véritable passion pour les épices du Monde  née d’une expatriation de 14 ans en Chine, et de nombreux voyages en Asie et dans le reste du Monde. Férus de gastronomie, fervents défenseurs de la cuisine française, nous avons gouté, découvert, expérimenté de nouvelles saveurs, au travers de plats ethniques et de recettes traditionnelles et populaires : des poudres suaves, des racines parfumées, des fleurs capiteuses ou encore des baies déroutantes!

Mathilde Madagascar 2_edited.jpg
schema naturaliste macis

Nous sélectionnons nos épices avec notre partenaire Sunit, issu d'une famille indienne grossiste en épices entre la Chine et l'Inde. Par sa culture et son histoire familiale, Sunit est un vrai professionnel, avec une sensibilité accrue concernant les épices, leurs vertus, leur utilisation.

Toutes nos épices sont donc sélectionnées directement auprès de fermes dans le monde entier.

Nos épices ne sont pas traitées, ni conservateur, ni additif qui pourraient altérer le goût originel de l'épice. 

Une exigence sur la conservation des épices est primordiale pour assurer la qualité à nos clients. Nous conservons nos épices à l'abri de la lumière et l'humidité, et à la température adéquate car chaque épice se conserve différement.

Muziris 100% naturel_edited_edited.png
Muziris sans additif_edited_edited.png
Muziris Vegan_edited_edited.png

Notre petit mot sur les épices

Nous avons constaté que dans les cultures asiatiques et hindoues, souvent bien plus spirituelles que notre société occidentale actuelle, les épices font partie intégrante du quotidien et leur utilisation va bien aù-delà de l’assaisonement d’un plat : base fondamentale de toute pharmacopée, elles permettent, encore aujourd’hui de soigner les maux du corps mais aussi de l’âme, le plus souvent dans une logique de médecine douce et préventive. Dans ces cultures, leur connaissance est, encore aujourd'hui, un savoir riche et précieux, transmis entre générations. 

Notre passion gastronomique, ainsi qu’une démarche avant tout qualitative, nous mène aujourd'hui à vous faire découvrir ou re-découvrir ces épices, ces saveurs, à partager notre passion pour ces petites graines qui parfument et embellissent nos plats du quotidien.

Making of mathilde 3.jpg

Dans la tendance actuelle d’une alimentation saine mais innovante, d’une cuisine synonyme de voyage et de découverte, nous sommes convaincus que nos épices, nos sels, nos mélanges, 100% naturels, méticuleusement sélectionnées, savamment mélangés, et correctement conservés, constituent une formidable alternative pour satisfaire vos désirs et surprendre votre famille et vos convives. Elles permettent aussi de cuisiner beaucoup moins gras, moins salé, de combattre les envies de sucré et même d'atteindre plus rapidement la sensation de satiété!

 

Oubliez ces pots d’épices insipides issus du monde agroalimentaire, dictés par des logiques de profit, et venez découvrir des saveurs nouvelles ou régressives, exotiques ou familières!

Laissez vous guider par nos conseils : apprenez à utiliser et à conserver vos épices, à les torréfier, les moudre  pour les sublimer! 

Et pour finir : le propre d’une  épice, c'est de pouvoir se marier, se combiner avec d’autres épices, ouvrant alors un champ des possibles infini : si certains mélanges ont un succès reconnu et millénaire (ras el hanout, garam masala, zaatar…), notre volonté est aussi de partager nos nouvelles compositions, plus modernes, résultats de notre connaissance approfondie de nos épices, et de leurs essences caractéristiques. Ces mélanges prêt à l'emploi, permettront, en quelques pincées de magnifier vos plats même les plus simples, de redonner une seconde vie à vos classiques de toujours!

 

Et bien sûr, n’oubliez pas qu’il n’existe aucune limite et osez!

Et notre nom Muziris?

Cité de l’Inde Ancienne, capitale légendaire des épices du monde connu.

Les écrits les plus anciens concernant Muziris remontent au 3ème siècle avant JC, et décrivent un port mythique du Kérala, au sud de la Côte Malabar, carrefour Indien des échanges entre les civilisations antiques de l’Inde, de la Perse, du Moyen-Orient, de l'Afrique du Nord ainsi que les peuples Grecs et Romains. 

Muziris est resté longtemps la plaque tournante des échanges commerciaux maritimes relatifs aux poivres et aux épices: the City of Spice.

Photos d'épices

Chimichurri Muziris.jpg

Chimichurri

Un mélange tout prêt à réhydrater dans l'huile d'olive et le vinaigre comme un condiment pour remplacer la moutarde => Argentine

Dukkah pistache Muziris.jpg

Dukkah Pistache

Mon dips préféré aujourd'hui, avec ses notes de cumin et sésame et la douceur de la pistache, mmmh un régal !

Tout simplement à l'apéro, préparez des bâtonnets de pains orientaux que l'on trempe dans un peu d'huile d'olive puis dans le dukkah, simple & efficace

Macis Muziris.jpg

Macis

Notre emblème et notre code couleur

packaging Muziris 2.jpg

Packaging Muziris

Nos sachets sont en kraft et intérieur alu pour une protection hermétique optimale, sachet recyclable. Nous utilisions auparavant des sachets compostables en extérieur kraft et intérieur farine de maïs, cependant les épices perdaient en saveur au bout de quelques mois. Dans un souci d'optimisation de la conservation de vos epices, nous avons changé nos sachets. Ces sachets conservent les épices à l'abri de la lumière et de l'air grâce à sa fermeture zip refermable

poivre Voatsiperifery.jpg

Poivre Voatsiperifery

Le poivre qui nous a inspiré dans cette aventure

Paprika fume Muziris.jpg

Paprika fumé

Essayez vite notre paprika fumé pour apporter des parfums boisés et fumés à vos préparations comme si vous aviez fait griller sur un barbecue au feu de bois !

On parle de Muziris

Maison et Jardin magazine

Edition Decembre 2023

bottom of page